NFN Review Zone – SALT OF THE SOUND : Made Whole.  (www.saltofthesound.com)

‘Made Whole’ is the new album from critically acclaimed husband and wife duo Salt of the Sound (Anita & Ben Tatlow). Inspired by the Psalms, the music is an exploration of conflicting emotions – sorrow & laughter, grief & joy, loss & hope – and how the intertwining of these makes us human, makes us whole, and helps us to find true peace. The album follows the duo’s signature ‘ambient worship’ style, featuring a mix of ethereal vocals, organic instruments and cinematic soundscapes. I’ve come to expect a high standard from SOTS, and I’m pleased to say that this new album doesn’t let those standards drop. Anita’s lovely vocal quality always brings a knowing smile to my face. Calming and reassuring, she caresses the words, such as “Hope springs peace, and truth. Joy surrounds me.” The track is ‘On Holy Ground’ and, already, I’m feeling a sense of God’s peace all around me. ‘When I Rest Here’ gives more space for the ethereal sounds to soothe the soul. At times, the piano notes are transformed into the sound of a trickling stream. The music floats on as the album progresses, with tracks called ‘Over the Waters, Awake My Soul’ and the, oh so beautiful, ‘Constancy.’ Once more, Anita’s vocals embrace each word:- “Still this anxious heart; Come breathe your word; Make your peace break down these walls; Speak to my heart.” Of course, there’s more to this album than just Anita’s vocals! The sounds are pure quality, with superb variation. I’m sure that I’ve said this before, in previous SOTS reviews but, as well as lovingly directing me to God’s peace, I find their work so relaxing. As one who suffers from mental health issues, music like this is essential to my well-being. Thank you Anita & Ben, for another terrific album.   10/10.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.