Christmas Peace from Garth Hewitt

Garth Hewitt

Garth Hewitt

GARTH HEWITT has released his latest album entitled “Peace At Christmas.” He says; ““For some time I’ve wanted to do a Christmas album and I’m delighted that back in April up in Bury St Edmunds with GingerDog Records the album Peace at Christmas was recorded. Half the songs are new or newly recorded – and the others are tracks I picked that seemed suitable for the album. There were two musical influences in my mind when I came to do the album – one was Johnny Cash’s Christmas album ‘The Christmas Spirit’ – this is an album we have listened to in the family for years and one interesting thing is that he speaks a lot of the album with Christmas carols playing behind him. The other person who influenced me was John Lennon with ‘Happy Christmas (War is over)’ – I’ve always been very struck by that bit “War is over, if you want it,” and I felt this album should have that commitment to a rejection of violence, which is a key part of the Christmas and Christian message.   www.garthhewitt.org

Leave a Reply

